Volunteer Service Awards
Written by Melissa Emdin   
Tuesday, March 27, 2018 02:00 AM

Volunteer Service Awards

Each year, ALCC recognizes special industry members who go beyond ‘normal’ volunteer service. You may nominate someone worthy of these prestigious awards by submitting the completed form to [email protected]. Nominations for volunteer service awards are due August 15 of each year, however, we accept nominations year-round. Recipients are recognized at the ALCC ELITE Awards Reception in the fall of each year. 

2024 Volunteer Service Award Nomination Form
2024 Formulario de nominación al premio de voluntariado de ALCC


NEW for 2024 - ALCC Woman of the Year Award
The Woman Leader of the Year Award recognizes a distinguished female ALCC member who embodies an exemplary spirit, proactive leadership, and profound dedication to the landscape and lawn care sector. This award serves to spotlight individuals who inspire their peers and serve as role models for women across the industry. To be eligible for consideration, nominees must meet the following criteria:

  1. Active membership in the Associated Landscape Contractors of Colorado.
  2. Holds a leadership position within a landscape or lawn care firm.
  3. Recognized as a source of inspiration and motivation for other women in the industry.
  4. Demonstrates remarkable contributions to the industry through leadership and active involvement in community service.

In addition to completing the nomination form, nominees must submit 2 letters of recommendation excluding nominee's current employer (such as a client or vendor) who is not related to the nominee or from the ALCC Board of Directors or staff. Please submit letters of recommendation to [email protected].

Bob Cannon Outstanding Achievement Award

The Bob Cannon Award honors individuals for their longtime service, commitment, loyalty, dedication and contribution to the landscape industry and ALCC. This is someone who is recognized as having improved the professional image of the landscape industry.

The current Bob Cannon Outstanding Achievement Award honors Judd Bryarly, Timberline Landscaping.

See past Cannon Award recipients

John Garvey Person of the Year Award

Established in 1997, the Garvey award is ALCC’s “Person of the Year.” It was named after John Garvey, CLT, in honor of his contributions and leadership in building the permanent CLT test site in time for the 1997 certification test. Amid a myriad of challenges, he set a new standard for service to ALCC.  

This year, the John Garvey Person of the Year Award honors Will LaPoint, SavATree.

See past Garvey Award recipients

Outlook Award for Emerging Leaders

The Outlook Award represents “up and comers” in the landscape industry and ALCC. He/she must make a significant contribution to the industry, his/her company and/or ALCC, in a volunteer or leadership capacity. The Outlook recipient is thought to have a bright future in the industry and ALCC. 

The current Outlook Award for Emerging Leaders recognizes Ben Fisk, Fisk Lawnscapes.

See past Outlook Award recipients

Stanley Brown Service Award

Established in 2008, the Stan Brown Award is presented to an individual associate or affiliate member who has helped make the industry more professional, or promoted professionalism to the public and other industry stakeholders, has held a variety of volunteer positions in ALCC, is known for outstanding association service and the contribution of ideas, programs, and/or educational endeavors and who has been a loyal supporter of ALCC and Colorado’s landscape industry.

This year, the Stanley Brown Service Award honors Frank Kinder, Northern Water Conservancy District.

See past Stan Brown Award recipients

Are you an ALCC member who wants to get involved? Email us at [email protected] today!  

2024 ALCC Platinum Sponsors